Weekly Recap – Jan 13 – Jan 20

Documenting progress, even if it’s “bad” (such as a low mileage week or a weight gain) is a very useful tool, so I am going to try to get back into the habit of my weekly recap posts to keep myself on track.  I have to lose 20 pounds (or try as close as I can) in the next 23 weeks (Doctor’s orders!!) so I’m hitting the ground running, so to speak.

Starting Weight – 272 (275) – The doctor weighed me at 275 with my normal clothes on, jeans, shoes etc.  I weighed myself at the gym the next day in my running shorts at 272.

Monday – Ellipitical – 60 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 3 miles
Wednesday – Rest
Thursday – Rest
Friday – Run – 3 miles
Saturday – Rest
Sunday – Rest (Football party!!)

Total mileage – 6 miles
Ending weight – 270 (2 pounds lost)

Whenever you make a change you’re always going to see a pretty big shift to start with.  The key is to stick with the program when next week this turns into no loss or even a gain.  Your body will fluctuate wildly for a while until it settles into the new routine.  Some of that could also be water weight lost since I’m working on drastically slashing my sodium intake and so therefore should retain less water.

Off to a good start!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.