Weekly Recap 4-15-13 to 4-21-13

Well, this has been an interesting week.  All the craziness in Boston focusing everything on runners and our sport, all of us gathering together to support those killed and wounded and celebrating when the men responsible are caught.  I ran my 5 miles on Tuesday in my yellow and blue Half Fanatics shirt to support the yellow and blue of the B.A.A.  Friday I got in a crummy treadmill run of only three miles, but today me and Laura knocked it out of the park with a nicely paced 10 mile run around Salem Lake.  I’m very happy with this run and it gives me a lot of confidence going into the Kings Mountain Half this weekend.

Starting weight – 245.0 (from 3-31-13)
Monday – Spin – 50  minutes
Tuesday – Run – 5 miles
Wednesday – Spin – 50 minutes
Thursday – REST
Friday – Run – 3 miles
Saturday – REST
Sunday – Run – 10 miles
Total mileage – 18 miles
Ending weight – 245.0 (unchanged)

My longest run by far since Disney also translates into my longest weekly mileage in quite a while.  The last four weeks have increased from 3.5, to 5, to 9 and then 18.

I’ve got to get “back on the wagon” so to speak with the healthy eating, now that I can exercise again.  I signed up for this weekends race to motivate me and get me back into that “training” mindset again.  Now I just need the nutrition portion of that to follow suit.  I haven’t logged a weight in 3 weeks, and weighing in today at exactly the same as I did three weeks ago, which is both good and bad. Not gaining, but not losing.  Need to work on this.

I have another Half on the radar as possible for May, which will help me stay in that training mode hopefully before the Grand Adventure (details to follow).

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.