Weekly Recap – 4-8-13 to 4-14-13

Last week was a very interesting week, which led up to a interesting (and busy!) weekend.  However, nothing can come close to the absolute rollercoaster of emotions from today.  From the sheer excitement and elation of jumping back into the racing fray and signing up for my next half marathon this morning, to the gut wrenching sorrow and heartbreak over the tragic events in Boston.  The entire running community is shocked and broken today and we will have to join together to pull ourselves back together again.

Monday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 3 miles
Wednesday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Thursday – REST
Friday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Saturday – RACE – Hope for Hospice 10K
Sunday – Walking – 30 minutes
Total Mileage – 9.2

No weigh in this week, at least not an official one.  Based on the peek I got on the home scale it would not have been good.  I’ve got to get back on the wagon and I’m hoping getting back into a serious training regimen will do the trick.  I’ve been floating by the last couple months with no drive and no motivation.

As I mentioned above, I signed up this morning for the Kings Mountain Half marathon on April 27th.  Yes, I realize that’s only two weeks away.  I had this race on my list way back in January, but I never registered for it and when I cleared my race schedule it got tossed aside.  I thought about it and thought about it, and since my financial situation had improved and I felt like I could spend a little money on running again I decided to take the plunge and sign up for it.  The race is entirely on park property at the Kings Mountain Battlefield park, and one of the perks is since there are no roads to close and no cops to tie up directing traffic this race has no time limit.  NONE.  Not a long one like 6 or 7 hours, but NONE.  Granted, I would assume they would want everyone to finish by sunset and the park closes, but you could take 12 hours if you wanted.  This means I can go as slow as I need to, and walk as much or all of the course if I need to, since I’ve not been training that hard lately.  This will be an “easy” run and take it nice and slow.  As Amanda said “You won’t PR, but you’ll have a good time!”.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.