Welcome to 2013

The New Year means different things to different people.  For most it’s a fresh start or starting over.  Not so much for me, since I continued my fitness and healthy eating for most of 2012, slipping up a little in December a lot of which was injury caused. 2012 was such an amazing year I’m not sure how I’m going to prevent 2013 from being a letdown.  How do you follow up that act? After injuries and holidays I do feel a little sluggish and have to start looking for motivation.

I started 2013 the same as I did 2012, with the Running of the Lights at Tanglewood which started at Midnight.  Since my girlfriend Lisa was visiting me this week she ran the race with me which of course made it special.  I didn’t wear my Garmin and I don’t have a clue what our finishing time was.  It wasn’t as cold pre-race as it was last year which was nice, and it seemed to go by faster this year, possibly from knowing the course and when we got to a certain part knowing we were almost done.  Lisa really loved running through the Christmas lights, so that was awesome and I’m glad we had a chance to do it together.

20130101_005204

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Coming up this next weekend, I’ll be heading to Walt Disney World to run the WDW Half Marathon on Jan 12th.  This will be a mini-vacation with my parents, sister, brother and his fiance all coming to spectate and visit the parks.  This will be another “fun run” that I’m not concerned about time at all, just a long one.  There will be chances to stop for pictures along the course and have fun with the characters.  I’m very much looking forward to this and this will also complete my 3 half marathons in less than 90 days to qualify me for the Half Fanatics.

The following week (Sun Jan 20) Lisa will be running the Tinkerbell half marathon in Anaheim which will be her first Half, and I really wish I could be there for it, but I’ll just have to cheer as loud as I can from the east coast.

I haven’t got a lot more planned for after January, my 2013 race schedule is still in flux for right now.  I know I’m running the Tar Heel 10-miler and Kings Mountain Half Marathon in April.  I don’t have anything planned for February or March at the moment.  Some possibilities include the Winter Flight 8K or Pilot Mountain Payback Half in February, the JP Runner Girls FFF 5K will be sometime in March, so I know I’ll do that one, and then I have to decide between the St Leo’s 10K or the Tobacco Road Half Marathon (Same weekend in March).  Nothing really planned after April either.  I have a list of races heading out till about September, but have to make final decisions on which ones I want to do.  I’m sure part of my current lack of motivation is not having anything to look forward to after Disney, so we’ll have to work on fixing that.

I still have some weight to lose this year, and I’m to the point now where the weight starts to come off very very slowly, so it may take me the whole year to lose this final 30 pounds.  Just keep plugging away at it. It’s a process.

2012 was the best year of my life.  Lets hope it gets better from here!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.