Weekly recap 12-10-12 to 12-16-12

This week was supposed to be a pretty normal week but it ended up going pretty sideways.  I had some tightness in my right quad while I was running on the treadmill on Thursday, and it didn’t seem too bad but I shortened my run down to 3 miles instead of the planned 4, stopped and stretched and tried to be gentle on it.  By Saturday morning it had flared up into some pretty severe pain.  It hurt to bend it, hurt going up and down the stairs and pretty much wiped out any plans I had for running any kind of distance this weekend.  I felt a good bit better this morning, but I didn’t want to risk it since it was still  a little tender, so more forced rest.  Planned rest day tomorrow, and then maybe can run again hopefully on Tuesday.  The good news is the pain in my right foot is now completely gone, but all I did was replace one injury with another, although thankfully both are very minor.

Starting weight – 235.4
Monday – Run – 3 miles
Tuesday – REST (Work Dinner)
Wednesday – Spinning – 50 minutes + Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – Run – 3 miles
Friday – REST (Company Christmas Party)
Saturday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Sunday – Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Mileage – 6 miles
Ending Weight – 238.4 (3 pound gain)

Pretty big gain this week, but honestly I’m not surprised.  Between a work dinner and a work christmas party there was some seriously bad eating, and then losing most of my weekend workouts, as well as my normal yo-yo act of “follow a big loss with a gain”.  I’m actually not upset about the gain.  I didn’t gain back the whole six from last week (meaning that wasn’t a fluke), and I’m still under 240, so to me that’s a win, especially this time of year which is “Oh someone brought cookies… again?” time at work.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.