Weekly Recap 12-3-12 to 12-9-12

I purposefully took this week off from running, both to relax my legs after the hard back to back of Raleigh and then Mistletoe (since I have a longer break now until Disney) and also to rehab a nagging right foot injury that is finally starting to feel better.  I did my “non-impact” exercises, yoga and weightlifting, and one slow 4 mile run with Jen on Saturday morning that was more just an excuse to hang out with her.  We were run/walking at a 15:00 mile pace, as she’s rebuilding after her long injury forced hiatus as well.

Starting weight – 241.6
Monday – REST
Tuesday – REST
Wednesday – Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – REST
Friday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Saturday – Run – 4 miles easy
Sunday – Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Mileage – 4 miles
Ending weight – 235.4 (6.2 pounds lost)

I hate the low mileage this week is probably going to knock me off my goal of 732 miles for the year, although I should still break 700, but I obviously needed the time off.  I can’t blame this week, but rather blame April and May when my mileage dropped WAY down as the weather got hot and I had nothing to train for and I lost my motivation for a while.

WOW.. a huge weight loss on a week I did hardly any exercise.  Well they say that shaking things up and changing your routine is a good thing every now and then, and obviously it worked! I had to lower my eating calories by a lot to make up for no exercise, but I wasn’t starving myself, I was still eating 1600-1700 calories a day.  I think some of this also had to be water retention in the muscles from all those long hard pounding miles.. the inflammation finally letting go and releasing the fluid buildup probably has a lot to do with it as well.  Which probably means I should expect a small gain next week as I get back into the hard high impact exercises again, but that’s OK as long as I don’t gain back the whole 6 pounds.  A 1 pound gain would not be a bad thing.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.