Crazy stuff I eat now.

Ok.. so it’s not really crazy.  In fact most of it is pretty mundane.  I’ve written on this blog before about changing the way I eat and how I changed a lot of my diet, but I got to thinking about stuff that I eat a lot of.  These are my staple items, things I almost ALWAYS have in the house.

Bananas: I’ve always liked bananas, and we always had them in the house growing up, but now I eat a whole lot of them.   I have one every morning with my breakfast and if I get in the mood for a peanut butter and banana sandwich (which is often) that will be my second one of the day.  Great source of calcium and potassium, and compared to other fruit, dirt cheap!

Peanut Butter: Speaking of peanut butter, this is something else I always have on hand.  My go-to long run/race morning breakfast is toast with peanut butter, something to fill me up and give me energy without sitting heavy on my stomach.  I just restocked my peanut butter supply with the two pack of 48 jars from Costco… Jif Extra Crunchy only please.  Great source of protein, healthy fats and minerals.

Apples: Like bananas, I grew up with apples in the house and would have one occasionally, but now I always have a bowl full of them and bring one with my lunch to work every day.  I like a lot of the “new hybrids” that have become popular recently (growing up we had two apples… red and green), I prefer Gala’s the best, but I also love Honeycrisps (expensive and hard to find) and Pink Lady’s and Fuji’s are also good.

Ground Turkey: I won’t lie. This was a tough transition.  I don’t know why, but something about ground turkey just seemed…. strange.  Once I got used to it though this was a no brainer.  It’s healthier than beef by a long shot, and oddly enough for something healthy, it’s CHEAPER. At 3.79 a pound the 93% lean turkey is about the same price as the nasty 70/30 beef. I mostly use this to make tacos, but sometimes brown it up for spaghetti sauce.

Frozen steam in bag corn: This is a recent discovery that quickly became a staple.  I had tried steamed frozen peas and green beans and just didn’t like them that much, but I had heard that frozen was better, and also as soon as I started watching my sodium intake, canned veggies were out right away.  I discovered the Lowes Foods brand of steam in bag whole kernel corn is REALLY good, and I’ve never even really liked corn that much.  It has one ingredient… Corn.. which is always nice to see, and no sodium (or a negligible amount of natural sodium like 20mg).  Even though I usually add a little bit of salt and pepper, I am in control of what goes in it, and it’s not a million mg’s like canned veggies.  Plus a half a bag (2 servings) is only around 120 calories.

Tilapia: I’ve started eating a lot of fish, and I knew I liked tilapia from when I had it at Bahama Breeze in Raleigh (of course anything would be good pan fried in butter with a shrimp cream sauce) and so when I found it at the store I decided to give it a try.  I used to coat it in breadcrumbs the way my Dad used to make baked catfish, but now I just bake it in the oven with a healthy shake of lemon pepper and that’s really good.  This has pretty much become my protein of choice, since I buy chicken when it’s on sale, but often enough chicken is way too expensive.  I buy it frozen in individual little packets, so I can pull out two fillets and thaw them and then bake them up quickly in the oven.  Quick easy, low cal dinner.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.