Hebrews 12:1

I’m not a church going man, and not a Bible scholar, so this post is not meant to be preachy, but I think it’s appropriate, so bear with me.

I had seen a quote on several running websites that I was fairly certain was Scripture, but it kinda resonated with me.  And the quote was this…

“and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us”

I Googled the phrase and discovered it was in fact a Bible verse from the letter to the Hebrews.  When I Googled Hebrews 12:1 it directed me to a website that gave several different versions of the verse based on the translation.  The translation from the New American Standard caught my eye and I really liked it because it used the word “endurance” instead of “perseverance”.  Here is the full text.

“Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us”

Bible study aside, this is a pretty powerful phrase if you look at it as the “race” is life.  Which I’m sure is the original intention.  Life is in fact an endurance event. There is no shortcut, no easy way, you have to endure.  Until the finish.  Which in this case, the finish is pretty final.

Even if you don’t believe the Bible, if you look at it from a non-religious standpoint it’s still pretty powerful.  You have to have endurance.  But you have to learn endurance, you’re not born with it.  A lot of bad stuff can happen to you but it’s not the “end of your life”.. your race is not yet run, your life is not over yet.  Keep running.. keep living.. keep going.  Don’t stop.  Don’t give up.

The only thing that would  be more appropriate is if the letter was one chapter longer and this was Hebrews 13:1.

2 Comments

  1. What can I say, other than “Amen!!”

  2. This verse (and a few others surrounding it) were the focus of my church service yesterday. How timely.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.