You might be a runner if….

These are observations I’ve made about myself… I’m sure they apply to runners all over the world.. feel free to add your own!

You might be a runner if….

You walk by someone and glance down to see what kind of shoes they are wearing..

You recognize lesser known shoe brands like Brooks, Saucony, Mizuno and Newtons (they are huge in the running community but not “shoes” in general).

You can translate miles to kilometers in your head…

You know who Meb Keflezighi is….

You grab your friends at the Expo and point out the Boston Marathon medal laying on the table…

You drive by someone running on the side of the road and you offer some words of encouragement, knowing full well they can’t hear you…

You track the miles on your shoes more closely than the miles on your car..

You schedule races 9 months in advance… (guilty)…

Christmas and birthdays mean new running gear…

And the number one way you can tell you may be a runner…

No matter how fast, how slow, trail, treadmill, road, race or casual…. YOU RUN.

3 Comments

  1. Haha, we both made “you might be…” posts at the same time. 9 months in advance? That’s nothing! I already know what 40 miler I’m running in Feb 2014. 😉

    p.s. update your PR widget!! that 3:11 half is loooong gone!

    • Haha thanks, I changed it on MFP and forgot on here… Yeah I just read yours and was about to comment on it. True, you got bumped from yours and shuffled to next year (like someone might for New York/Marine Corp/Chicago/Boston etc). As far as the nine months, I registered for Disney back in May, so that one’s been on the docket a WHILE.

  2. I get pissy when I see people wearing Brooks Glycerin 9s that I know have never run a step in them, and I can’t buy them anymore because the model 10s are out which I’m not a fan of. I saw a girl at Disney World wearing “my shoes” and I wanted to tell her to take those off and give them to me.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.