Weekly Recap 11-5-12 to 11-11-12

Well, I stumbled through a half marathon recovery this week, tried to jump back into it too fast and paid a price.  Tuesday’s two mile run felt fine, and Wednesday’s spin and yoga combo wasn’t too bad, although I was dead tired about halfway through yoga, but then Thursday crashed hard, tried to go for 4 miles on the treadmill, even dialing the speed back to go “easy” and barely made it to two. My legs were gassed.  Friday I did upper body only and Saturday I did nothing at all.  I ran a slow slow 5 miles this morning and felt surprisingly good, so hopefully things are getting back to normal.  Rest tomorrow and then we’ll see how it goes on Tuesday.

Starting Weight – 237.2 (from 10-28-12)
Monday – REST
Tuesday – Run – 2 miles
Wednesday – Spin – 50 minutes + Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – Run – 2 miles
Friday – Weight Lifting – 30 minutes
Saturday – REST
Sunday – Run – 5 miles + Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Mileage – 9 miles
Ending Weight – 240.6

So, a 3.4 pound gain over the last two weeks.  I’m not surprised at all to see this, and honestly it’s not as bad as it could be.  I really let myself go last weekend, some of the eating and drinking was justified by running the half marathon, but some of it was not.  Then, as I had to seriously cut back on my exercise this week, I had a hard time staying under my calories since I wasn’t getting the extra burn, so I over ate several days this week.  It was what I normally eat (since most of my meals are planned in advance and I eat the same stuff repeatedly) but I didn’t have the exercise to balance it out.  Still well under 250, so I’ll take that any day of the week, and try not to let this bother me and just get back to work.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.