Weekly Recap 10-29-12 to 11-4-12

Took things very easy this week in preparation for the big race on Sunday.  All the weeks of training and dedication paid off as I smoked my previous PR of 3:11:18 and very nearly broke 2:30 with a finish time of 2:33:59.  I was able to run the whole way with no walking breaks, and although I did struggle in the last few miles I didn’t hit the wall the way I did in New Orleans where I literally felt I could go no further, and getting to the finish just meant it was over.  I felt much much better after this race and got to enjoy some of the elation and sense of accomplishment rather than being miserable.

Monday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 4 miles (easy)
Wednesday – REST
Thursday – Run – 2 miles (tempo)
Friday – REST
Saturday – REST – 1.5 miles walking (slow dog walk pace)
Sunday – Race – 13.1 miles
Total mileage 19.1 miles (not counting dog walk)

No weigh in this week since I didn’t make it to the gym on Sunday, and partly a “you don’t want to know” scenario.  Lots of bad eating this weekend both before and after the race, some of which was justified by burning 2500 calories on Sunday morning but not all of it.  Between eating, drinking, inflammation and water retention from sore, damaged muscles I feel certain I posted a gain this week, but that’s OK.  Back on tracking calories this week and we’ll see how next week’s weigh-in goes.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.