Weekly Recap 10-15-12 to 10-21-12

Changed things up a little bit this week.  I had a hard time finishing my spinning routine last Monday after a 8 mile run, so I knew not to try it after a 9 mile run, so Monday has become a rest day.

Had a 10K on Saturday which was originally planned to be a half marathon tune up, but I decided I wanted to set a new PR, and I did, by over 7 minutes. This was probably a good idea (rather than running the 10K at 12:30 “half marathon” pace and not setting a PR) since it really pumped my up and listed my spirits.  The last several weeks of 20+ miles has been taking a toll, but Saturday was a HUGE boost.

Starting Weight – 242.4
Monday – REST
Tuesday – Run – 5 miles
Wednesday – Spinning – 50 minutes + Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – Run – 5 miles
Friday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Saturday – Race – 10K
Sunday – Run – 4 miles
Total Miles – 20.2 miles
Ending Weight – 240.0 (2.4 pounds lost)

Very happy to see a loss this week, not that I thought I would gain, since I didn’t have any big dinners or anything like that.

I know I wrote in my race recap about the 10K, but I’m so pleased with my performance, not only setting a PR, but feeling like I had more in the tank at the end, I could have kept going if I needed to.  This is such a huge confidence booster getting ready for the half marathon.  The double runs (Sat and Sun) has paid huge dividends as well as the long runs.  Logging 13,14,15 miles per weekend has been a huge boost to me.  My training plan for this Raleigh half marathon has been aggressive because it needed to be, but it’s working!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.