One Year on MFP

Today marks the one year anniversary of when I joined the MyFitnessPal website.  First off, man has it flown by… I can’t believe it.  And what a year it’s been.  Here’s a look at what I have accomplished in the last 366 days (leap year ya know).

Weight Loss:

First and foremost, the reason I joined MFP was to help me lose weight.  Counting calories can be a chore, but it really helps you stay accountable.  Even only after a few days, I would look at the 400 calorie Mr Goodbar on the grocery store shelf, think about what a percentage of my daily total that was and then put it back.   To date, I’ve lost 66 pounds from 308 where I started down to my current weight of 242.  My total loss from my heaviest weight of 355 is now 113 pounds.

Measurements:

Sometimes the scale doesn’t show what you would like (such as the three months in the summer I lost a total of about 3 pounds), but there are other ways to measure success.  I didn’t start taking measurements of myself until January, but in those 10 months I’ve lost 4 inches around my chest (49 to 45), seven inches around my belly (52 to 45), and 2 inches at my hips (waist of my pants) from 43 to 41.  I’ve gone from a 2XL shirt, to a XL and even some Large’s that fit.  I’ve gone from a 44 size pant to a 40 with a belt.  My 40’s are falling off me without the belt and the next pants I buy will be a 38.  This is astonishing since I’ve been wearing size “4’s” (40, 42, 44, 46) for… well.. as far back as I can remember.

Running:

From October of last year to October of this year I have run a total of 628 miles.  This works out to 1.71 miles per day.

Racing:

As part of my running, I’ve completed several races of varying distances.  Since November of last year I have completed 8 5K’s (3.1 miles) and reduced my time  from 44:12 (Nov 2011) to 34:02 (May 2012).  I have completed two 8K’s (5 miles) reducing my time from 1:02:55 (Feb 2012) to 58:50 (Sep 2012).  I have completed two 10K’s (6.2 miles) reducing my time from 1:38:10 (Mar 2012) to 1:15:34 (May 2012).  I will complete my 3rd 10K this upcoming weekend and hope to reduce my time further and set a new PR.  I have completed one half marathon (13.1 miles) with a finish time of 3:11:18 in March of 2012.  I have three more half marathon’s lined up in the next few months, with Raleigh (Rex Healthcare) in November, Mistletoe (Winston Salem) in December, and Walt Disney World in January.  The Raleigh half marathon has a 3 hour time limit and so I have been training hard to reduce my time to under that limit.  Mistletoe and Disney will not be run for time, just to finish.

Friends:

I’ve met some wonderful people on MFP who support me and I can support in return, the community aspect of the website is fantastic and it really really works.  I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

What a year! And lots in store for the next year as well!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.