Weekly recap 10-1-12 to 10-7-12

Wow, what a week, or more to the point should I say, what a weekend!  The week was fairly normal besides being just crazy busy at work.  The the weekend just went all kinds of sideways (but in a good way).   I already had big plans for Saturday, and then received a last minute invite (read: late Friday night) to attended the NC State vs Florida State football game, in a luxury box with some work provided ticket from my friends Gray and Katie.  I looked at my schedule for the day, and knew I’d have plenty of time to get down there after my other stuff was done and said “I’ll be there!” So this is how my Saturday looked.

Got up at 7AM and headed over to the YMCA where they were having a huge member event with all the classes doing special things and new releases etc.  I ran on the treadmill for a quick 3 mile warmup and then waited for my RPM class to start.  Spinning was at 9:30 and then followed that up immediately with yoga at 10:30.  After that I went home, showered and changed and then the member event continued at Westbend vineyards.

I discovered much to my excitement that Westbend has also added a brewery to their winery where they make small batch craft beers.  I didn’t ask, but I believe they are only available at the winery either by the pint or in a take home growler.  I had a pint of their unfiltered wheat beer (they didn’t mention Belgian or German style, but the barkeep was talking up German style wheats) and it was very very good.  I enjoyed the food and entertainment at the winery for a while and then it was time to hit the road.  After taking a special request from Gray for the acquisition and transport of two bottles of Westbend Chardonnay (one of Katie’s favorites), I hit the road and headed for Raleigh.  The seats we had were up in the Vaughn Towers and here is our view.

Nice huh?

The suite included a spread of BBQ, hot dogs, chicken tenders, slaw, potato salad, popcorn, soda, water, beer and some really good banana pudding.  We weren’t the only ones in the suite, but there was plenty to go around.  Great food, a GREAT game and great friends? What more could you ask for?  After the game I drove home and got home pretty late, but then still got up this morning and went out to run 8 miles for my half marathon training long run, so got to have some fun and still get my job done!

Starting weight – 242.4
Monday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 4.5 miles
Wednesday – Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – Run – 4.5 miles
Friday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Saturday – Run – 3 miles + Spinning – 50 minutes + Yoga – 45 minutes
Sunday – Run 8 miles + Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Mileage – 20 miles
Ending Weight – 244.2 (1.8 pound gain)

Another 20 mile week to keep pushing my half training along.  I felt really good during my 8 mile run today even with the late night the night before, and I am really starting to feel confident about Raleigh.  The training is obviously working because know I feel like I can not only finish the race (which was never in doubt) but can also hit my time goal (which was a little doubtful at first).  I’m really looking forward to it!

A gain this week, which honestly, doesn’t surprise me.  And for more than just the partying over the weekend, but taking indecent liberties with a box suite food spread surely didn’t help matters, even with a huge burn that morning.  I’m not too shocked to see an uptick here (since that just seems to be how it works with me) and I had 2 huge losses in back to back weeks, so I’ll try not to let that bother me and just it is what it is.

Good Eats of the Week: Hands down the spread at the football game.  Sure it was your standard “commercial food service” type food, it wasn’t steak and potatoes with truffle oil or anything fancy, but it was good.  And there was lots of it.. much to my eventual chargrin, but I didn’t stuff myself as bad as I COULD have, so there’s always that.

Good Drink of the Week: Also hands down winner, the Wheat beer from the Westbend Brewhouse.  Very very good beer.  And made on site, so certainly a local product!

1 Comment

  1. All I can think, a la Homer Simpson, is, “Mmmmmm… Wheat beer!”

    Sounds wonderful!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.