Weekly Recap 9-24-12 to 9-30-12

A fairly normal week.  Was off work on Friday to drive to Raleigh and back but I still managed to get my lifting in when I got home so no missed workouts.  I’m doing good with my eating, but struggling to keep my sodium down.  I’m watching it now, and so at least I’m aware, but even with eating less processed food there’s still a lot of sodium in everything.

Starting weight – 246.6
Monday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 4.5 miles
Wednesday – Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – Run – 4.5 miles
Friday – Weightlifting – 30 minutes
Saturday – Run – 4 miles
Sunday – Run – 7 miles + Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Mileage – 20 miles
Finishing weight – 242.4 (4.2 pounds lost)

I seriously have no idea where that big loss came from, was not expecting that at all, in fact almost expected a gain with the struggles with sodium and water retention.  I must be drinking enough water to flush most of it out. The extra Saturday runs are doing wonders for my half training and also seem to be doing wonders for my weight loss.  I’ve lost nearly 8 pounds in the last two weeks which is just astonishing.

Several major running milestones this week.  20 miles for the week matches my previous long week which was the week before the New Orleans Half Marathon (5/5/10).  81 miles for the month of September blows past my previous high of 63 for my longest mileage month ever, and also today’s run pushed me over 500 miles for the year (502).

I have 5 weeks left until the Rex Healthcare Half Marathon and October looks to be another 80+ mile month.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.