Weekly Recap 8-27-12 to 9-2-12

Wow, what a week.  Two weekend runs with two new running partners and hitting my highest weekly mileage since the 5/5/10 week before New Orleans Half.  The Saturday run was a product of just happening to talk to the guy next to me on the treadmill on Friday (which I normally don’t run Fridays) and turns out he does a Saturday morning group run at Tanglewood park which is literally just down the street from me.  I did a decent amount of socializing this week (Restaurant dinners both Thursday and Friday nights) but the only work out I missed was weightlifting (made up for by the extra run on Saturday).  Also  no Sunday yoga since I ran long that morning.  Wednesday yoga was cancelled, so did spinning that night instead.

Starting weight – 249.6
Monday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 4 miles
Wednesday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Thursday – REST
Friday – Run – 4 miles
Saturday – Run – 4 miles
Sunday – Run – 7 miles
Total Mileage – 19 miles (2nd highest below 20 miles the week before RnR NO)
Ending Weight – 249.4 (0.2 pounds lost)

So another minimal loss this week, and I know slow and steady wins the race, but does it have to be this slow?  Oh well, lots of bad eating this week so this is probably good, and I’m still holding on to that 6 pound loss from a couple weeks ago so I’ll only complain a little tiny bit.  Overall can’t be too upset.  Also, my work challenge weigh in (on Wednesday) was 251, which I know will be different than my Sunday official weigh in, but that was two pounds lighter than the Wednesday before which was 253! So hopefully that trend continues as well.

Just for curiosity (since the calorie burns are estimates) I looked at my MFP data for the week, and MFP says I worked out for 401 minutes (6 and a half hours!) and burned 5359 calories (est).  WOW.  That’s a big number.

Good Eat of the Week:  Got to be the Prime 10 oz Filet Mignon from Ryan’s Restaurant on Thursday night.  Cooked perfectly rare, melt in your mouth delicious.  (Not to be confused with the Buffet chain Ryan’s Steakhouse, this place is a one of a kind very high class place… I’m glad the drug rep was paying and not me!).

Good Drink of the Week: I normally don’t have a drink of the week, but again from Ryan’s, the A to Z Pinot Nior (Oregon) was amazingly good.  I used to hate red wine, but I found I liked the Merlot from Stony Knoll, and this Pinot was excellent.  I also tried a little taste of the Cabernet Sauvignon that the table was sharing, and it wasn’t bad as well, but the Pinot was better.  I guess my palette is becoming refined.  Nice!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.