I’m a fruitaholic…

“Hi my name is Eric and I’m a fruitaholic……”

Ok, so maybe it’s not quite that bad, but I love fruit, I always have (veggies on the other hand are more a love/hate relationship).  We always had fruit in the house growing up.  Bananas in Cheerios, banana and PB sandwhiches, apple slices with peanut butter, lots of grapes, fresh orchard peaches (although those went into an oh so healthy peach cobbler).

We had fresh fruit in the house, but we also had plenty of canned fruit and that’s what I grew up on, I love canned pears, canned peaches, fruit cocktail, apple sauce and so on and so forth.  But lately, I’ve steered away from the canned fruits and gotten back into fresh fruit.  Fruit is so easy to fit into any diet, it’s so low calorie.  Depending on size, an apple will range from 80-90 calories, a banana 75-110 calories, 2 cups of grapes (a bowlful) about 120 calories.  I eat at least one piece of fruit a day, but most days more than one.  Right now I have 4 kinds of fruit in my house, apples, bananas, grapes and nectarines.  I’m a little upset that half my nectarines are rotten and moldy, but that’s a story for a different time.  Today I had an apple with lunch, and a bowl of grapes as a snack  this afternoon before I hit the gym.  When my bananas ripen to my liking, I’ll start eating those in the morning with breakfast along with the apple for lunch.  So usually 2 fruits a day, minimum.

Surprisingly enough, there are constant debates on MFP and other dieting websites where a lot of people warn people not to eat fruit.  Besides being one of the bigger chunks of the food pyramid, or whatever passes for the food pyramid these days, common sense tells you this is crazy.  Why would you not eat fruit?  “FRUIT IS FULL OF SUGAR” they say…. well yes, this is true.  However, take into account that in total the caloric load of a piece of fruit is roughly 100 calories.  Even if those calories are 100% from sugar (which they are).  Carbohydrates are 4 calories per gram, so at the most your piece of fruit has 25 grams of carbs. Even with my lowered carb goal, my daily carb allowance is 225 grams, so that apple for lunch was 9% of my daily carb allowance.

Here’s what that piece of fruit has that goes beyond just 25 grams of sugar.  First and foremost fruits are mostly fiber.  Fiber helps regulate your blood sugar so you don’t really get a hard kick from all that “evil” fruit sugar.  Fiber also helps in plenty of other ways.  Like all things that grow in the ground, fruit is full of minerals, calcium, potassium, sodium and iron to name a few.  Fruit also is chock full of vitamins.  Mostly vitamin C in citrus fruits (and in smaller amounts in  firm flesh fruits like apples and pears), bananas contain several of the B vitamins.

So don’t listen to the haters… EAT your fruits!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.