Weekly Recap 6/4/12 to 6/10/12

Wow.. What a week.  I’ve been all over the place this week.  A work dinner Thursday night, CD Release Party Friday night, visiting a friend Saturday and then group run/breakfast this morning.  Quite a lot of social events for this old hermit, not sure how I handled being out of the house that much.  I managed to squeeze in all my exercise and actually the group run this morning was a “bonus”, I already had my normal mileage for the week and so that was extra.

Starting weight – 259.6
Monday – Spinning – 50 minutes
Tuesday – Run – 3 miles
Wednesday – Yoga – 60 minutes
Thursday – REST
Friday – Run – 3 miles
Saturday – Run – 5 miles
Sunday – Run – 3.5 miles + Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Mileage – 14.5 miles
Ending Weight – 259.6 (UNCH)

So, I didn’t lose weight this week.  BUT I didn’t gain.  I was dead certain I was going to gain weight this week, so in the past weeks where I would have called this a “wasted week” this week I’m gonna call this a WIN.

I learned some interesting things this week.  I can run three days in a row if I need to adjust my schedule.  I can run 5 miles on 4 hours sleep (but I don’t recommend it).  I learned for a lot of people 9 minutes a mile is a “social” pace, but not for me.

Considering all the socializing  I did this week, I’m gonna steal a segment from my friend Emily over at Run, Eat, Nap, Drink.

Best Eat of the Week:  This is a toss up between two delicious tilapia dishes I had this weekend.  First, Thursday night at the Village Tavern, grilled tilapia with a Chardonnay butter sauce with potatoes and haricot verts.  Then Sunday at Red Lobster a Parmesan crusted tilapia with crispy red potatoes and rice pilaf.  Both were very good.

Best Drink of the Week: This one’s easy, two pints of Red Oak draft beer from Thursday night’s dinner at the Village Tavern.  This local red ale is my absolute favorite local microbrew and can sometimes be hard to find.  It’s now offered in bottles since they built the new Brewery out in Elon, but I haven’t tried it yet.  Draft is always better anyway.

1 Comment

  1. thanks for the link! sounds like you had a nice busy week, but the extra food-based activities and exercise balanced out. Always good when that happens.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.