I am an Athlete.

Wait, what? When did this happen?  Somewhere along the way I became an athlete without realizing it, and without really trying.  Yesterday I saw this great quote from running legend Jeff Galloway.

“Being an athlete is a state of mind, which is not bound by age, performance or place in the running pack.”

I never did sports as a kid.  I played soccer in elementary school and tried out for the baseball team in high school.  My only regret is I wanted to play catcher so bad (foolishly thinking it was an easy position rather than the hardest) and when I got cut from the battery and offered a position in the outfield, instead of taking it I decided to quit.  The next year that team won the State Championship.  I don’t have shelves full of trophies, my parents don’t keep my old room set up with posters and pennants and medals etc.  But something happened.  As I started running, and finishing races, I began to feel like an athlete.  But then I didn’t feel like one, I became one.  I have trophies now.  Not many, but I have them.  I have a medal from a 5K that is a 2nd place finish in my age group.  I have a finishers medal from my first half marathon.  And to top it off,  I am hungry to add more.

If you participate in any sport, at any level, high school, college, rec league, beer league, adult amateur, semi-pro.. you are an athlete.  And running is a sport.  It’s about finishing, and racing, even if against only yourself and a clock. Each time you do better, you “win”.  My trophy shelf is growing, and I’m ready for more.  Bring it on!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.