Summer 2012 Race Schedule

After a very busy winter/spring that involved training for my first half marathon, my first race over a 5K (Winter Flight 8K), the Half Marathon, and then my first 10K (St Leos), things have calmed down quite a bit, but there are still some races upcoming on the schedule.  At least one a month.

April 28th – Forsyth County Law Enforcement Memorial 5K – Winston Salem
This race is run on Wake Forest University’s campus, so should be good scenery and closed roads.  Benefits the Forsyth County Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation which pays for honors for fallen LEO’s and also scholarships for the children and families of slain officers.

May 12th – Shelton Vineyards Running of the Vineyards 10K – Dobson, NC
This will be my second 10K,  and it seems like a really neat race running through the vineyards.  All of the Yadkin valley wineries are very scenic and beautiful and should be a lot of fun.  As I mentioned in the Must Run Races part 2, my friends from Raleigh might be coming up for this race, so should be a good time.

May 26th – Spring Folly 5K – Kernersville, NC
I don’t have a lot of info on this race, I just found it on Active.  The registration fee is only 15$, so probably low key race, no shirt, which is fine with me.  It will be my birthday weekend/Memorial day weekend so should be good fun and hopefully nice weather.  Appears to benefit the Kernersville Family YMCA.

June 16th – Rhythm and Run 5K – Kannapolis, NC
I had a different race slated for this weekend but then found this one.  This one benefits the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame (which shame on me for not even knowing that existed!) so being the music buff I am, I think this one will be a lot of fun.  Also, my new running buddies in Kannapolis, the Landis family, said they might run this one also if they are not at the beach that weekend, so that will be fun.

July 21st – Beat the Heat 5K – Winston Salem, NC
This race is sponsored by the local running club, the Twin City Track Club, and I thought about doing this race two years ago.  With the name and the 7PM start time I thought it was an evening race to get out of the heat, but then I saw the tag line of “Can you beat the heat?” and of course realizing the sun will still be blazing at 7PM in July since it doesn’t get dark till like 9PM and it will still be hot.  2 years ago I would have died, but I think this year I will be ready.

August 18th – Downtown Rocks and Runs 5K – Mt Airy, NC
I didn’t have a race for August and just recently found this one.  This is another evening race, starting at 6PM and features live music and a post race concert and sounds like an all around good time.  I mentioned this race to my friend Kim who lives in Mt Airy and she said she might run it also, so that will be good.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.