Travel Log

One of my long term life goals, bucket list item if you will, is to travel to all 50 states.  Sometimes when I think about where I’ve been it helps me to make a list.  Eventually I want to get a map on a corkboard and stick pins into the places I’ve been.  Catalogs sell them, I will probably make my own.  So I decided to make a list and share with my friends and readers where I’ve been.  I will list the state and some of the major cities I’ve been too.  Starting with where I’ve lived my entire life and then in no particular order:

North Carolina (Charlotte, Raleigh, Greensboro, Winston Salem, all over)
South Carolina (Charleston, Myrtle Beach, Camden, Bluffton/HHI)
Virginia (Williamsburg, Petersburg, Virginia Beach, Willis/Floyd Co.)
West Virginia (Too long ago, don’t remember)
Georgia (Savannah, Augusta, Atlanta)
Alabama (Huntsville, Montgomery, Birmingham, Dothan)
Maryland (Baltimore, Thurmont)
Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, Gettysburg, Harrisburg, Hershey)
Ohio (Sandusky, Columbus)
Michigan (Detroit, Dearborn, Ann Arbor)
Mississippi (Gulfport)
Louisiana (New Orleans)
Tenneessee (Mountains, Pigeon Forge(?), Natahalla River area)
Wisconsin (Madison, Wisconsin Dells)
Florida (Orlando, Tampa, Daytona)
California (Anaheim)
Washington DC

All told, 16 states plus DC, well over 1/4 of the country.  I’ve mentioned before Alaska and Hawaii will be hard due to travel, and some places will be hard to find something worth the trip (ND, SD, Idaho etc).

Bonus:  Places I’ve visited by airport only (which doesn’t count, but just for fun) – Chicago, IL,  New York, NY, Manchester, RI, Denver, CO.

2 Comments

  1. you didn’t list Floyd, VA 🙂

    • Dangit! And I totally meant to… LOL… I will add it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.