Running Scared

OK, so I made it home safe and sound so I can kinda chuckle about this now after the fact, but I had to write about my horrible experience of a run last night which I labeled as my worst run ever.

It was a beautiful day yesterday, 60 degrees, sunny so I’m thinking all day, I’m gonna run outside in a tshirt and shorts, take advantage of a January outside run day.  Those don’t come along often.  So I had to go into town to take care of something with the cable company that they couldn’t do over the phone, got that taken care of and then decided to hit up the Chinese buffet for lunch which was probably not a good idea.  Came home feeling sluggish and put off my run for a couple hours.

Finally hit the greenway at 5:30 (horrible traffic) and figured I had enough light left for an hour long run.  Was out in my t shirt and shorts, and after about a 1/4 mile it started getting dark and cold.  I briefly considered quitting and driving over to the Y to hit this run on the treadmill, but decided I was already out there and it would take 30 minutes to get to the Y in that traffic and so I decided “Heck with it” I would just be cold.  Well then it got darker and darker and colder and colder and then things were not getting any more fun.  A little over a mile in and I am frozen solid and it’s only getting darker.  I get to the two mile turn around point and it’s so dark I almost can’t see the path, so I’m doing a lot more walking then running at this point, and then a thought hits me that puts the fear of God in me.  Most of the city parks are “7AM to Dusk” or something like that, and the parking lot for this greenway has a gate.

Bad thoughts start running through my mind, what if they lock me in the gates and I am stuck here? Or worse.. what if they tow my car and I am stuck on foot? At this point I am sprinting, I don’t even feel the heavy breathing, I don’t feel any pain, I am literally running for my life.  I was running like something was chasing me.  I would slow down to walk and then the panic would strike again and I would be off to the races again.  I don’t think I have ever had a run where my last mile was my fastest.  I ran my fastest pace for the last 0.27 miles of the New Years run, but that wasn’t over the course of a whole mile.  My splits for last night were Mile 1 – 13:10, Mile 2 – 14:00, Mile 3 – 12:30 and Mile 4 – 12:29.

I make it back to the car and my hands are so numb I can barely work my keys in the lock, and it’s too dark to see the gate at the top of the hill so I don’t know yet if I can even get out yet or not.  As soon as I get in the car and my hands start to thaw then they start to HURT bad.  Ironically, it felt like that was the only part of me that was cold but they were bad cold.  I get up to the hill and the gate is open, so sigh of relief but now I feel like crud and my hands are hurting.  Had a hard time driving home with dead legs and hurting hands.

So I get home and log my run and check my pace, of course in all irony, my fastest pace ever, dead on 13:00 minute mile, but of course I was running like the Hounds of Hell were chasing me.  My friend Heather said I must run best when I am scared, so I just need something to chase me when I run.

Maybe I should consider that Run for your Lives zombie 5K afterall.

So there it is… Feel free to laugh now.  I do feel silly the morning after.

1 Comment

  1. You are a brave man to run in the dark in WInston Salem (or anywhere in the US for that matter LOL). I’d be running AND shitting my pants at the same time with fear…

    Do you have any tips as to how you are managing to resist shit food? Myself and Sharee would be very grateful we are stuck in Christmas gorge mode…

    Thank you very much! 🙂

    Mim


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.