Week 3 Half Marathon Training Recap

Week 3 of my Half Marathon training is now in the books.  It was an interesting week considering it was the week between Christmas and New Years and it ended with a bang with my Midnight New Years run.  I will be a little short on my mileage, since my “long run” was the race, but there are race days built into the schedule, so I just juggled things around a little.  I also had a slight weight gain this week, which I know is not the end of the world, but I just need to kick it into gear here for the New Year.  Here’s the tale of the tape.

Starting Weight – 285.2
Running – (3.5, 3.5, 3.3) – 10.3 total miles
Biking – 5.7 miles
Yoga – 60 minutes
Total miles – 16 miles
Ending Weight – 285.6 (0.4 pound gain)

Overall, was a good week.  had a blast at the New Years race.  Might have to find another one of those wherever I’m living this time next year.  Right now I’m looking at a 5K or an 8K the first weekend in February as the only two local races between now and the half in March.  I’ll have to decide which of the two I want to do.  I had hoped for a 10K before the Half, but I don’t see one on the schedule.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.