Before and…… During?

Ok, so this is not before and after because the journey is not yet completed but I stumbled across some old pictures and was astonished at the changes.  The funny thing is, I’m getting close to what I weighed in college, but I found an old college pic and I am slimmer looking now then I was then, at a similar weight.

This first picture is one of me and my best friend Gray.  I think this is spring of Freshman year, which would make it 1999.  We are wearing short sleeves, but I don’t think it’s fall freshman year since I have my full year of beard going on, but it could be fall of Sophomore year but still 1999. Like I said I don’t have any clue what I weigh in this picture, but best guess is around 295.

Ok.. so this next picture is well….. it’s not flattering.  But it needs to be out there since this is the “beginning”.  This is the worst of the worst… this is me at my heaviest.  At the wedding of my former brother in law.  It’s not pretty.. you’ve been warned.  Don’t know the exact weight but in my log from September of 09 is listed 345, and my highest was 355 so somewhere in that neighborhood.

Obviously I am the one in the orange shirt and not the flowery dress, just in case you were wondering.

This last picture was taken at my last race, at the NC Marathon 5K, Nov 19, 2011 .  My weight in this picture was 292.  So only a few pounds less than what  think I weighed in the college picture for 12 years ago.  (I wieghed in today at 287, so I’m still moving down)

There it is.. fun with pictures.  Since the picture can show us what the mirror doesn’t or what our brain doesn’t see.

2 Comments

  1. Keep on keeping on. Don’t give up and stay encouraged. You’re doing well.

  2. Hi, just found your blog and I’ll be following along. Good luck.

    Regards,
    David


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.