Week 1A Half Marathon Training Recap

For the Half training, the long runs are on Sunday’s, but I’m going out of town today so I did my long run last night and I am done with the week.  As I mentioned before, I will be doing this week’s layout 3 times to make up for what would be a gap between the 5K and the Half.  I feel like I did good, although I did cut Thursday’s run short.  I also did Yoga for the first time this week (the reason I was so sore/tired on Thursday).  I hope to continue doing the Yoga and hopefully I will get used to it.  Here’s a look at the numbers.  No biking this week since the compressed schedule cost me a cross-train day, but I had the Yoga instead.

Starting weight – 290.6
Running (3, 2, 4) – 9 miles
Yoga – 60 minutes
Ending weight – 289.4 (1.2 pounds lost)

The Thursday run was supposed to be 3.  Maybe next week I will be able to do the 3,3,4 that’s on the schedule, but 2 is better than zero and if you are tired/sore/hurt listen to your body and don’t force anything.  I rocked the 4 miler on Saturday so I am proud of that.  I didn’t pay attention to all 4 splits, but the first mile was 12:40 and my overall pace was 13:20 so I only slowed down a little bit (even though it felt like I took a couple of LONG walking breaks).  4 miles is my longest run ever, and I was thinking of the 3 miles I’ve been doing in training, but it’s also the first run longer than 5K distance, since 3.11 has always been my max.

Week 1B starts tomorrow…

*EDIT* And totally forgot! This is my 100th post!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.