Half Marathon Training

Monday starts my Half-Marathon training course in preparation for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon in New Orleans on March 4, 2012.  I am following the Hal Hidgen Novice Half Marathon trainer.  This is a twelve week program, and since I have 14 weeks between now and the race, and to help ease me into my first long distance trainer of any kind, I will be completing Week 1 three times, before advancing to Week 2 and continuing with the schedule.  This schedule also changes my workout days from the 5K trainer I was following.  Now, rather than running Mon, Wed, Fri to prep for a Saturday race, now I will be running Tues, Thurs, Sun to prep for a Sunday race (with an optional run on Wed).  Here’s what the weeks will look like with the week 1 distances.  Week 1 and 2 are the same, Week 3 and 4 are the same and then the distances increase each week.

Monday – Stretch and Strengthen (Yoga? Weights? Haven’t decided)
Tuesday – 3 mile run
Wednesday – 2 mile run or crosstrain (bike, swim, walk etc)
Thursday – 3 mile run
Friday – REST
Saturday – 30 minute crosstrain
Sunday – 4 mile run

Sunday’s will always be the longest run of the week.  I can already see some places where I will need to make adjustments, but the good thing about the Hidgen trainer is it is very flexible.  Christmas Day will be a Sunday this year, so I will have to do my long run on Saturday.  Also, New Years Day will be Sunday, and I will be running the midnight 5.5K race that night.  But the Higden trainer has spots for races in the training, so I will be doing the 5.5K week 3 instead of week 6 and just adjust down the other long runs.  Week 9 has a 10K race, but I’m not sure if there is one scheduled that weekend.  I would like to do a 10K before the half, but there’s not a lot of races scheduled this time of year. 

This is what I will be doing for the next 14 weeks.  Can’t wait for New Orleans! I hope by then I am ready!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.