Baked Ziti with Ground Turkey

This is a dead simple recipe (4 ingredients), but I wanted to share it since it’s another interesting use for ground turkey.   You will need:

1 lb ground turkey (I used Butterball 93 lean/7)
1 lb pasta of your choice (I used walmart (great value) ziti)
1 26 oz jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce (I used Great Value Traditional)
1 cup of 2% low fat Mozzarella cheese.
Baking dish large enough to hold it (9×12 should be good)

Place a pot of water on the stove to boil and pre-heat the oven to 350 F.  Once the water is boiling, pour in the pasta and cook per the package directions.  While the pasta is boiling, brown the ground turkey in the pan.  I didn’t have any salt and pepper to add, but I added a small amount of garlic salt.

When the pasta is done, drain the pasta in a colander and then pour into the baking dish.  Open the jar of sauce and pour over the pasta and stir to combine.  When the turkey is cooked, drain the turkey in the colander as well. (Optional with such a small amount of fat, but I did drain it). Add the turkey to the dish and mix it in as well.  Sprinkle the mozzarella over the top of the dish and place in the oven for 10-15 minutes to melt the cheese and warm the sauce through.  That’s it.  Told you it was easy.  Enjoy.

Here’s the nutritional info.

Total Dish (6 servings): 3020 Calories, 406 g carbs, 73 g fat, 184 g protein
Per serving:   503 Calories, 68 g carbs, 12 g fat, 31 g protein

Even with a side salad (with cheese, croutons and dressing) and a slice of garlic bread, the whole dinner is under 1000 calories.

Couldn’t find my camera until I had already eaten two servings.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.