Week 5 5K training recap

Today’s run finished up my week 5 training. I’m getting close to the entire distance. Next week starts at 2.75 miles. Here’s a look at the numbers.

Starting weight – 299
Running – (2.5, 2.0, 2.5) 7 miles total
Biking – crosstraining – 9.74 miles
Total mileage – 16.74 miles.
Ending weight – 297 (2 pounds lost)

I knew the weight loss would level out, and that’s ok. I knew 5 lbs a week wouldn’t last.

I had two fantastic runs this week. On Thursday I was doing my 2 miler on the treadmill at the Y, and I did a 2 minute warm up walk and then jogged (4.7MPH) for 5 minutes solid (previous long was 3 minutes)… took a 2 minutes walk break, and then cranked it up again, intending to do another 5 minutes, but after the 5 minutes was up I just kept on going. I jogged for 13 minutes, over a mile at a 12:45 minute/mile pace. Then, today I decided to skip the Y and run outside for my first outside training run. I shaved a slight bit off my mapped out 2.7 mile route to make it 2.5. I started the stopwatch and then stuck it in the mailbox, so I had no idea what my time or pace was while I was going. The cold air made my lungs burn and I was huffing and puffing in no time flat, but I kept at it. I finished my first lap (1.35 miles) in 18:30, so I was feeling pretty good about that, but then the second lap was a little harder, really had to gut it out. I’m expecting around 34 minutes, or a 14 minute mile pace. I jog back up to the mail box to grab the stopwatch and what do I see? 31:31…. A 12:36 minute/mile pace… UNBELIEVABLE. It didn’t feel like I was going that fast, but it also didn’t feel like it took 31 minutes.. much much less tedious than running on the treadmill.

2 weeks to race day… it’s counting down!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.