Week 3 5K Training Recap

Week 3 is in the books, and it was a little rough.  Due to some extenuating circumstances I had to skip my Monday run, so to make up for it I ran Tuesday and Wednesday back to back to get back on schedule and I had to cut the Wednesday run short because my legs were so tired.  I added back the extra 1/4 mile to my Friday run, but that was tough as well.  Here’s the numbers.

Starting weight: 308
Running (2.0, 1.25, 2.25) – 5.5 miles total
Biking – 8.25 miles (30 minutes, 16.5 MPH)
Ending weight: 303 – Loss of 5 pounds

A slight caveat to the weight loss.  Apparently starting the training made me Yo-Yo quite a bit.  After last week’s gain back to 308, I was back down to 304 on Tuesday and then the 303 was Friday this week.  So while it’s technically 5 pounds it’s probably realistically more like 1-2 (which is fine).

Also, this week as I mentioned in an earlier post I signed up at MyFitnessPal.com which logs food calories and exercise calories and gives you a recommendation of what you should eat during the week.   True it’s not a “diet plan” only a dietician can give you one of those, but it holds you accountable for what you eat. All of a sudden that 400 calorie candy bar doesn’t look so appetizing anymore.

The other thing I did this week is I officially registered for the Go Far 5K at the North Carolina Marathon.  It was on my schedule but now I am officially registered.  I’m looking forward to the “marathon experience” the pre race expo, the post race party, even the 5K finishers get finishers medals.  This should get me really pumped up for training for that half marathon next March.

Check back for post race analysis and pictures after the Nov 19th race!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.