2012 New Orleans Rock and Roll Marathon – Training

Long time no blog, but yes I am back and I am about to embark on an adventure to kick start my running career again.  Two months ago I signed up for a membership at the local YMCA and I’ve been doing a lot of walking/jogging on the treadmills there and started thinking about running a race again. 

I’ve decided I am going to run the half-marathon at the New Orleans Rock and Roll Marathon on March 4th 2012.  Most of the inspiration for this is my friend Amanda over at Eat to Live, Live to Run will be running the race as her first full marathon.  Her and her husband have run several Half marathons and this will be the first full marathon for both of them.  The other reason is looking at the calander, I have just enough time to start training for a race in March.  Here’s how this is going to work. 

First I am going to go through a 5K training course to get me back into running shape as well as improve my 5K times/endurance.  The Half marathon training course starts you out week 1 at running 3-4 miles so they assume you already can handle a 5K distance.  The 5K training is 8 weeks and starts today.  This will finish the week of Thanksgiving.  I had planned on running a Thanksgiving day race, but so far the only one scheduled is in Lexington NC which is about an hours drive away.  It looks like they have had one here in Winston in years past but I don’t see it posted yet.  The weekend before however (Nov 19th) is the North Carolina Marathon in High Point NC.  They include a full, half and 5K.  I will definately run the 5K here and see what it’s like for the “marathon experience”.  According to the website even the 5K runners get to attend the expo and after race parties and even get a finishers medal, so that will be fun.

The half marathon training course is a 12 week program.  To slot into a March 4th raceday the program would start Dec 11th.  So there is a two week gap between the 5K training and the half marathon training.  What I will most likely do is the week 1 of the half training multiple times.  Either do week 1 twice and week 2 twice, or week 1 three times and then week 2, week 3 and so on. 

Of course the overall goal of doing this much cardio is to loss weight.  Finishing the half marathon is just the icing on the cake.  And that will be my goal, finish.  I don’t care about time or pace or winning or any of those things.  Just pound out the 13 miles and finish. 

It’s a long race to the finish.. and it starts today!

1 Comment

  1. Awesome! You can definitely do it! Make it happen 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.