Mystical Properties of Peanut Butter

Peanut butter must have some sort of mystical properties, I just haven’t been able to discover them yet.  How else do you explain something that is delicious, plays well with others and quite possibly is *gasp* good for you?

But peanut butter is full of fat you say? Yes, but take a closer look at the label.  The peanut butter I’m eating right now has 15 grams of fat per serving.  Which the label tells us is 23% of your daily serving.  Ah, but look at what types of fat we have.  7.5g, or more than half of the total are mono-unsaturated fats.  Those are the good kind (like omega-3’s).  Another 4.5g (or about 25%) are polyunsaturated fats, which are also not as bad for you.  Only 2g of the fat is saturated fat. Doesn’t sound so bad anymore does it?  Peanut butter is also a great source of Protein at 7g per serving.

Peanut butter by itself is great, but notice how peanut butter goes well with just about anything? Peanut butter plays well with fruit, peanut butter and apple slices (which I am snacking on now), peanut butter and grape (or strawberry or apple) jelly.  Peanut butter plays very well with sweet, peanut butter and chocolate (my #1 fav candy combo), peanut butter and white chocolate (the delicious concoction known as tiger butter), peanut butter pie, peanut butter cheesecake etc.  But peanut butter can dance with savory as well.  Peanut butter sauce with chicken satay.  Peanuts and Peanut butter in Pad Thai and Chicken Massaman.  Peanuts and peanut butter are very popular in Thai and other asian cuisines.

My sympathies to those with peanut allergies, because you are missing out on the deliciousness that is peanut butter.  Mysterious? Maybe.. Delicious.. you bet!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.