2010 Year in Review

A lot has happened this year.. Some good (1 year wedding anniversary, 30th birthday, birth of my first nephew) some not good (hospitalization and death of my father in law, ever present financial issues), but we survived it and made it through.

This year was a pretty good one from a fitness stand point for me.  In April I managed to hit two big milestones back to back, first my weight dropped under 300 pounds, and a few weeks later I hit 50 pounds of weight loss (dating back to October 2009), and I continued that to my current loss of 65 pounds.  I’ve hit a major plateau at 285 pounds which I’ve been holding steady at for the last several months, but the New Year brings with it new opportunities.

I participated in 3 races this year.  I had hoped to do more than that but for various reasons of scheduling, timing, weather etc there were other races I was not able to do.   I walked/ran three 5K races in April, May and October with a personal record of 44 min 55 seconds, and an average of the three of around 46 minutes.   This is right at a 15 minute mile pace, which is 4 miles an hour.

I’ve stated in earlier posts that I had a goal for March 2011 to be my first half marathon.  This is currently up in the air, since they decided to move the next North Carolina Marathon, which will not be held until November 2011.

What will 2011 bring? Stay tuned to find out.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.