Bonzer 5K for Friedrich’s Ataxia

Well, I finished, which is always good.  First race in about 5 months so I wasn’t sure how well I was going to do, but I ended up just a little slower than my personal record, which is not bad for taking several months off.

Man was it cold this morning.  It had to have been in the mid-40’s this morning around sunrise.  As soon as we started running within a 1/4 mile my lungs were burning bad from the cold dry air.  I jogged for the first half mile or so and then jog/walked after that.  Here are my splits:

Mile 1 – “Around” 14 minutes (nice precision by the volunteer)
Mile 2 – 29:55
Mile 3 – 45:04
Finish (3.1) – 46:19

Just under 15 minute mile pace at around 14:56/mile.

After the race I got to chow down on some pretty good food.  Half a bagel, a banana, some chicken and rice stuff from Outback that was pretty good and a mini chicken biscuit and tiny cinnamon roll from Chick-Fil-A.

I will certainly need to invest in some cold weather gear before my midnight New Years run.  If it’s cold now, who knows what it will be then.  Probably snowing.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.