Back to the Running Game

Now that the weather has turned cooler, and in true North Carolina fashion (95 degrees one day, 72 degrees the next), it’s time to get back to running.  I’ve missed quite a few races lately with a hectic schedule which included a lot of driving back and forth to Raleigh for my father-in-law’s hospital stay, passing and funeral.

The next race on my schedule is Oct 23rd in High Point NC.  A charity run sponsored by Outback that includes free food, count me in!

I haven’t run/walked/jogged in quite a while but hopefully I can pick it back up again on short notice.  I haven’t gained any weight in my inactive slump, but I haven’t lost any either, still hovering around 280.

I’m looking at Active.com and there are some more races coming up in October and November, so I should be able to find plenty of events coming up.  Better weather means more outside events.  The goal is still to run the half marathon in March of next year so I have a lot of work to do.  Time to dust off the Saucony’s and get to it!

2 Comments

  1. run mf run, you on mlk.

  2. Cant wait to hear how its going! The weather is awesome, I think you’ll have a much better experience than a few months ago.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.