Fall TV Season

The Fall TV season has begun, and for one show, already ended.  Fox has already canceled “Lonestar” after only two episodes. They really don’t fool around much anymore, which is a shame in some ways since it seems sometimes quality programming gets cut just because it didn’t draw American Idol type numbers for it’s first episode.  Here’s what has my interest peaked this Fall season, there is a bunch of new stuff on TV this year.

The Event – NBC – Mondays:
I just watched the second episode of this show on DVR and I have to say, so far I am not impressed.  The viral marketing campaign worked with the “What is The Event” commercials.  I was looking forward to this show.  The story telling is very weird with nearly ever scene being followed by a flashback that tries to “explain” the scene.  Every other scene is prefaced with “4 months earlier” “3 days earlier” “thirteen months earlier” etc etc.  It jumps around so much that all I can think is “What the frell is going on?” I’m confused.  I don’t see this show lasting long as it quickly loses it’s audience.

Undercovers – NBC – Wednesdays:
The latest offering from uber-producer J.J. Abrams (Lost, Fringe, Alias, Heroes) follows two married ex-secret agents as they are thrust back into a life of catching bad guys.  I watched the Premiere last night and I really liked it.  The second episode is recording on the DVR as we speak and I will probably watch it tomorrow.  It has action and romance and comedy and blends them flawlessly in a very watchable format.  Well done by Abrams, hopefully this show will stick around, I think it will be a winner.

Blue Bloods – CBS – Fridays:
I hadn’t seen anything about this show, but I caught the first episode at my in-law’s last Friday.  Who doesn’t love shows about the NYPD? There seems to be a million of them.  Throw in a family whose dad just happens to be the police commandant and you have the makings of an action packed drama.  A star studded cast of Tom Selleck, Donnie Wahlberg and Bridget Moynahan should carry this show far.  I look forward to seeing more of this show.

Chase – NBC – Mondays:
This show follows The Event,  and so far I haven’t watched them yet, but I have the first two episodes recorded on my DVR.  Typical “woman who kicks ass” premise as the main character is a US Marshal hunting fugitives.  Looks exciting and action pack.  I’ll be interested to see if it’s as good as the commercials make it look.

Boardwalk Empire – HBO – Sundays:
This is a new show from HBO and it’s debuting in the sweet spot, the Sunday night time-slot vacated when the 3rd season of True Blood ended.  Featuring Steve Buscemi as an Atlantic City politician/councilman who is as corrupt as the day is long.  Beginning at prohibition and showcasing the early years of organized crime (including a young Al Capone) this show looks absolutely awesome.  I can’t watch this one until my wife gets home from being out of town but thankfully it will be available on demand.  This is must see TV, and looks to have a very high, movie style production quality, as you would expect from HBO.  If it’s even half as good as True Blood it will be a blockbuster.

Returning Shows:
Fox standbys Bones and Fringe are back on Thursday nights.  Parenthood is back for a second season on NBC.  Not much from ABC, Grey’s Anatomy and Modern Family return, new show Detroit 187 has mixed reviews.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.