Cheap Eats Pasta Bake

I stole this recipe from a college roommate of mine, and it’s great because it’s so flexible.  I went out and bought the ingredients to make it today, almost all of which were on sale, so I’ll have a good dinner I can eat off of for 3 or 4 days because there will be leftovers for sure.  You can make it with chicken, beef cubes, ham or no meat, the choice is yours. Beside the ingredients I’ll list the price I got them for today.  I didn’t buy chicken since I already had it, but for the sake of argument we’ll say I paid the Food Lion sale price which is 1.86 a pound.

Ingredients:
1 pound chicken ($1.86)
1 pound penne pasta ($1.25)
2 cans cream of mushroom condensed ($1.15 each/$2.30)
1 can peas ($0.50)
1 can corn ($0.50)
1 can green beans ($0.50)
1 can stewed tomatos ($0.89)
2 cups cheddar cheese (one bag/ $1.33)
Oil/Salt/Pepper to taste.

Total price of ingredients: $9.13
I will eat on this for 3 or 4 days, the box of pasta is 8 servings, plus all the chicken and veggies so I’ll be generous and say it’s 12 servings.
Price per serving: $0.76 <— Can’t beat that with even a dollar menu.

It’s also dead easy to make.
Cook the pasta as directed, drain and return to the large pot.
Brown the chicken in a skillet with oil salt and pepper until cooked through.
Add soup (no water), drained peas, corn, green beans, tomatoes (with juice) and 3/4 of the cheese to the pasta and stir until warmed and cheese is melted.
Mix chicken into pasta mixture.
Pour into 2 qt baking dish, top with rest of the cheese, season with salt and pepper.
Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 25 minutes until hot and cheese melted.
Top with Bacos (if desired).  The Baco’s add a nice crunch, and they are soy so they can be used with the vegetarian version as well.  We’ve made this in the past with veggies only, but if you wanted a “meat” you could certainly add tofu or a meat sub but I’ve never made it that way.

It’s that easy, and it’s delicious and CHEAP.  Pasta and canned veggies.

1 Comment

  1. […] for lunch I made a quick and cheap, Kitchen Sink Pasta Bake. The idea was inspired by my friend’s Cheap Eats Pasta Bake. I substituted some of the canned vegetables for fresh vegetables, decreased the amount of cheese […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.