Right Size and other Lies

The last couple of days I’ve been hearing commercials on the radio for the Right Size weight loss smoothies and two questions come to mind.  A. Does anyone actually buy this stuff? B. If they do, do they actually expect it to work?  The answers to these questions can be answered by two very old adages.  David Hannum “There’s a sucker born every minute – 1869” and Thomas Tusser “A fool and his money are soon parted – 1557”.  The commercials are ridiculous and they don’t even hide the facts.  “It will make you feel full so you eat less” – What makes you feel full without calories? Fiber.. High amounts of fiber in a diet suddenly can add all kinds of bad side effects like stomach distress.  And a biogenic monoamine that turns on the bodies fat burning and turns off appetite? I’m not sure the comparison to methamphetamines is a good idea.  Does this even work?  There’s a word for this.. it’s called starvation.  You’re paying half your paycheck a month to NOT EAT.  Of course you will lose weight on this but you will feel like crap and you will gain it all back the second you even sniff a cheeseburger.  Water and fiber are not a diet.  At least eat celery.. it’s cheaper.  Losing weight is hard work.. trust me I know.. but there is no “magic pill” or “magic shake” that will take the work away.. sorry, it just doesn’t work like that.

Another thing that bugs me is TV diet ads that lie to your face and apparently can get away with it.  Doesn’t matter if it’s a “magic pill” or a prescription strength thing like Alli or even a real program that works like Weight Watchers, they are all guilty of it.  They give you an amazing success story of someone (usually a woman, except the Nutrisystem commercials on ESPN) who lost 250 pounds in 6 months and they are so excited, but wait.. then they hit you with the disclaimer….

RESULTS NOT TYPICAL

I could understand something like “Individual results may vary” because different people will react differently, but “Results Not Typical” flat out says that MOST of the time the product does not work that well.  The reason for the disclaimer? Lawsuits of course.  Now they are protected from people who only lose 5 pounds and sue that the product doesn’t work, since they can say they clearly stated that the product may not give the desired result.

Welcome to the 1860’s, now let me sell you some snake oil.  And if you buy that I’ve got some oceanfront property in Arizona.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.