All 50 States

Sticking with the travel theme, one of the goals I’ve set for myself is to visit all 50 states.  That may sound like a no-brainer, but of course there is a lot of travel involved, some long distances (Alaska, Hawaii) and some states that don’t have a whole lot to see.

I traveled quite a bit as a kid.. family vacations, band trips, church trips, visiting out of state friends. I’ve already racked up some pretty impressive miles up and down the east coast.  When I was in college I took several out of state trips to visit friends.

I’ve currently visited North Carolina (where I’ve lived all my life and traveled coast to mountains), South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Georgia, Alabama, Louisiana, Ohio, Wisconsin, Michigan, Florida, Tennessee, California and Washington DC. 15 States + DC.

I’ve had a few flybys in some states that don’t really count, I’ve been to the Chicago airport, New York Airport, Denver airport and a job interview in Mass.  I’d like to go back and visit these places and make it count.

Some states I can’t wait to visit.  My parents went on an Alaska cruise and it looked awesome.  I loved New Orleans and can’t wait to take my wife there.  Florida I’ve been to a million times and can’t wait to go back.  Savannah GA and Charleston SC are mainstays that we visit almost every year.

Some states I wonder why you would go there at all.  What is in North Dakota besides snow?  Is there anything in Kansas besides corn? I’ve heard not.  What about Idaho? Just potatoes or is there more?

Some places I want to visit but the wife doesn’t.  She doesn’t care about Las Vegas, and has no desire to go to Hawaii.  She’s much rather go to Europe on a 12 hour plane flight then Hawaii.  I would like to go to Europe too, but if we make it to 48-49 states visited we better be going to Hawaii! Neither one of us wants to go to New York City, but maybe we can visit somewhere else in New York State.  Albany? West Point? I’m not too keen on New Jersey either, but maybe we could spend a day in Atlantic City while we are visiting Philly and knock that one out.

Where is your must visit state or location? I love to travel and I can’t wait to hit them all!

3 Comments

  1. I definately want to go to NYC, can you imagine all the delicious food! LOL
    Hawaii is a must for me too. I think there are probably some pretty awesome gems in whatever state, you just have to do the research and think outside the box. My favorite place so far has been California, San Francisco was AMAZING! I can’t wait to go back.

  2. San Francisco is No. 1 on my list right now for places I want to visit. I loved L.A. so much and am dying to go back. So, definitely try to get to California. Skip Hollywood Blvd, though. Ugh. Would love to go back to NYC, too. You really don’t want to go there? I’d really like to go to Austin, Texas, too. I’ve only heard great things about it.

  3. NYC to me just seems like too much hustle and bustle, and a lot of people there to take advantage of tourists. Maybe it wouldn’t be that bad, we haven’t had any trouble in places like Baltimore, Wash. DC and Philadelphia. We’ve used the subway systems in both DC and Philly so maybe we could handle it. I’ve been to California. Last summer we went to Anaheim for the IFT Expo. It was nice, the weather was awesome, but it is number 1 on my list of “love to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there”. We were literally just down the street from Disneyland, and we would eventually like to go back. Too much politics, taxes and 5$ a gallon gas for me in Cali. I want to go to all the BBQ meccas and compare them to NC. Memphis, Kansas City, Texas. One place I really can’t wait to go to is Denver. After Dad sent back the video and then we had a stopover there on the way to Anaheim it just looks awesome. I also would like to go to Canada to the Hockey Hall of Fame, but of course that’s not in the 50 states!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.