Food and Travel

Our local cable provider just switched around their channel lineup, and surprisingly it makes sense.  Channels of similar themes are grouped together.  Local, Sports, Lifestyle etc.  Lumped together in the 300’s are Food Network, the new Cooking Channel and Travel Channel.  Now instead of scrolling through hundreds of channels I can find what I like in 3 back to back channels.  Awesome! This reminded me of how much food plays a part in our travels.

My wife and I love to travel, and we love to find new restaurants and new food styles.  Most cities we visit we have a favorite restaurant.  Here’s a few of our favorites, in no particular order.

Lady and Sons – Savannah, GA:  This is Paula Deen’s place so you know what to expect.  Traditional Southern cuisine and leave your diet at the door.  Fried chicken, mac and cheese, veggies of all descriptions, fried fish, shrimp and grits, mashed potatoes, hoecakes and of course amazing desserts, including her signature Gooey Butter Cake.

Bubba Gump’s – Charleston, SC, Orlando, FL, New Orleans, LA, Anaheim, CA: My wife has been to the one in Orlando, I’ve been to the one in New Orleans, and we’ve both been to the ones in Anaheim and Charleston.  Based on the Forrest Gump movie, you know what’s on the menu.  Shrimp.  The Shrimp New Orleans and Shrimp and Grits are good.  Mama’s Southern Fried Chicken is also good for the non seafood lovers. Fun atmosphere and lots of movie memorabilia.

Biergarten Restaurant – EPCOT, Walt Disney World, Orlando, FL:  This restaurant at the German Pavilion at EPCOT is a great way to get a taste of International cuisine.  Sausages, potatoes, speatzle, schnitzel and much more.  Expect a line, but it’s worth the wait.  Also, one of the few places in Disney that serves alcohol.

Hard Rock Cafe – New Orleans, LA, Myrtle Beach, SC, Washington DC, Baltimore, MD, Orlando, FL: Another mega chain, but a fun place to go and great food.  The rock memorabilia is awesome and the food doesn’t disappoint.  My wife’s favorite is the Twisted Mac and Cheese.  I like the big burgers and chicken sandwiches.  Like Bubba Gump’s, half the fun is the different locations and seeing how many of the different one’s you can go to.

Campo’s Deli – Philadelphia, PA: The official cheesesteak of Wachovia Center (home of the Philadelphia Flyers) and my first taste of an authentic Philly Cheesesteak.  I got mine traditional, with onions and Cheez-Whiz, the wife got her’s with Provolone.  Very good, and worth braving the 14 degree temperatures of Philly in March.

Lincoln Diner – Gettysburg, PA: This is a great classic diner, across the street from the Lincoln Train station and just a few blocks off the main square in Gettysburg.  The food is awesome and the prices are fantastic.  Old school diner prices.  Breakfast plates (2 eggs, meat, hashbrowns etc) for 3 dollars.  Blue plate specials for 4-5 dollars.  10 cent coffee.  Very affordable.  We stop here every time we visit Gettysburg.

I can’t wait to travel some more and add more places to this list.  Obviously a lot of this food (Deen, Gump, HRC) is not very healthy, but enjoyed in moderation and on vacation is fine.  I wouldn’t suggest eating at the Lady and Son’s daily, no matter how good it is!

1 Comment

  1. mmmmm. gooey butter cake …..


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.