It’s not the years honey, it’s the mileage.

I can’t begin to imagine the number of miles I’ve put on these old sneakers.. In fact I don’t even remember how long I’ve had them, probably at least two years.  Between college redux, traveling with my wife and just general everyday mall walking, I bet these puppies have seen a lot.  They’ve been to battlefields and museums, beaches and mountains.  As you can see they have certainly taken some abuse.

But now they have been officially retired.  Friday I got my first pair of running shoes, dedicated for running only, no yard work, no dog walking no everyday wear, just training and races.  I went to Dick’s Sporting Goods and out of the very small selection of what was available in Sasquatch size (13) I got these.

Saucony Grid Cohesion NX’s.  I wore them for the race on Saturday and they were comfortable, although not quite the “running on clouds” feeling I was expecting from a nice new pair of shoes, but I’m sure they will be nice once I break them in.  I read on some running websites about replacing shoes after a certain number of miles, I guess it’s like oil changes, you wouldn’t want to wait for the 3 months part of the equation if you hit the 3000 miles part in a month.  It depends on how much you use them.  I’m thinking about keeping track of the miles I put on them, just for kicks (no pun intended).  So far they are still nice and shiny, with that new shoe smell and 3.1 miles on them.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.