Special K Protein Meal Bar

My wife bought these, basically for their intended purpose, as a meal replacement for breakfast.  She doesn’t usually eat breakfast but she knows she needs to eat something in the morning.

Tuesday I gave one a try for breakfast, and I must say I was very surprised that not only did it taste pretty good but when it was time for lunch at work I wasn’t even hungry.  As advertised it did keep me full.  By contrast, the next day I had a bagel for breakfast and two hours after getting to work I was hungry.

The stats: 1 bar – 180 Calories, 6 g fat, 3.5 g sat fat, 10 g protein, 5 g fiber.

The protein and the fiber are the ingredients that keep ya going and full and they certainly promote those attributes.  The bar is basically put together like a candy bar, puffed rice, peanut butter and chocolate coating (for the chocolate peanut butter flavor).  They taste pretty good, throw in some caramel and you’ve got a Whatchamacallit bar.. sort of.

The one drawback is the price, as my wife said they were about 5$ a box “on sale”.. Of course, that is less than a dollar a bar and if it replaces a meal, such as breakfast or lunch, perhaps its worth it? It just seems so expensive compared to some Quaker Chewys that are like 1.50 for a box of 10.. but of course they are not nearly as nutritious or filling.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.