Couch 2 5K “Week” 4

I just finished the 3rd day of Week 3 on the Couch to 5K program.  It’s my 4th week working out, since I repeated week 1 to get started.  This week was a 5 minute warmup walk, then jog 90 seconds, walk 90 second, jog 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes and then a repeat of the 90/90/3/3.   Today I did 1.56 miles in 22:04 which is a 14:08 minute/mile pace.  Not bad considering my 5K walking only was a 19 minute/mile pace.

The next week or step of the C25K get’s pretty complicated.. I’m not sure how you’re supposed to keep up with all this, I guess you just study before hand, but here’s what’s on tap for next week:

Brisk 5 minute warmup walk
Jog 3 minutes
Walk 90 seconds
Jog 5 minutes
Walk 2.5 minutes
Jog 3 minutes
Walk 90 second
Jog 5 minutes
For a total of 26.5 minutes.

Previously the walking was longer than the jogging (or this week the walking and jogging were equal) so this is the first week that you jog more than you walk.  After this week, week 5 has similar intervals for the first two days, but then week 5 day 3 is “Jog for 2 miles/20 minutes with no walking”

I’m not sure how to set up my training days for next week, since I have a race on Saturday.  Normally I would run Sunday/Wed./Sat, but I won’t be able to run tomorrow with family in town for mother’s day so I may do Mon./Wed. but then should I do the C25K run on Thursday or Friday or just do the race on Saturday? I don’t want to kill myself Friday and not be able to run the race Saturday morning.  I will also do my walk/jog intervals during the race, but I probably won’t time them, just switch back and forth.. jog then rest jog then rest.

My birthday is coming up at the end of this month, and to show their support of my fitness training my parents sent me a check a couple weeks early since I had mentioned to my Mom I desperately needed a new pair of running shoes.  So next week I will get to go out and pick up a new pair of running shoes, so that’s pretty exciting.  My first piece of sport specific equipment, since my current shoes are just sneakers/cross trainers.  These new shoes will also be for running only, no yard work, daily wear etc.  I can’t spend 100$ on a nice pair of Brooks or something like that, but I’ve been looking at the sale ads and saw some Saucony and Asics at Dick Sporting Goods, but I’m still thinking about maybe going to a Fleet Feet or Runners Only store so they can fit me, tell me what kind of shoe I need etc.  Then if I still have to buy a cheaper pair at Dicks or Omega or something I know what to look for.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.