Week 2 Half Marathon Training Recap

Week 2 is  now in the books.  This becomes like a Christmas paper chain countdown now.  As each week rolls along the race gets closer and closer and closer.  10 more weeks until race day.  I got in my full mileage this week, no more cutting runs short.  Also got in a test run with my new Garmin, although the cold really took it out of me, slow pace 4 miles in just under an hour.  Here’s how this week shaped up.

Starting weight – 286 pounds
Running – (3, 3, 4) – 10 miles total
Biking – Crosstraining – 5.5 miles
Yoga – 60 minutes
Total Miles – 15.5
Ending weight  – 285.2 (0.8 pounds lost)

The Garmin worked perfectly, and the nice thing is you can set up the watch to automatically take “laps” at 1 mile intervals, which in reality is not a “Lap” but gives you a mile split time.  I could tell how bad I slowed down, as I walked most of the second half of my 4 mile run, freezing cold and pushing into a hard headwind.  My splits were 13:04, 13:48, 14:58, and 15:18.  4 miles in 57 minutes, Average pace 14:30.  Not awful, but on the treadmill I’m pretty consistently in the 13:20 range.  I will certainly need all my cold weather gear for my midnight New Years run on Sunday morning.

2 Comments

  1. I’m planning to start running too in January as an extra factor to my weight loss. If your are interested in weight loss, please check out my new blog. I promise you that you will find a lot of inspiration and motivation there!

    http://www.2months15lbs.wordpress.com

  2. Keep going! Dont stop! Best wishes for 2012 and your race.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers