Sun Chips vs Baked Lays

I’ve reviewed Baked Lays on here already, and I’ve been eating them for the past several weeks.  I happened to be out of them this morning and so when I got to work I picked something “safe” out of the vending machine, a bag of original flavor Sun Chips.

Sun Chips have 10 grams of fat, compared to 2 grams for the Baked Lays.  Sun Chips are labeled as being 30% less fat then regular potato chips, while Baked Lays are 80% less.  But besides being low fat Baked Lays don’t bring a whole lot else to the party.  Sun Chips on the other hand have a lot more nutritional aspects that make me wonder if they wouldn’t be healthier than the Baked even with more fat.

Of the 10 grams of fat in Sun Chips, only 1.5 grams are Saturated.  3 grams are poly-unsaturated and a whopping 5 grams are mono-unsaturated.  That’s the good kind of fat right? Sun Chips also boast 18g of whole grain in each 1 oz serving (42 grams).  I don’t know how that compares to say whole grain bread but it sounds like a lot.  They also have 3 grams of dietary , 4 grams of protein and only 180 milligrams of sodium.

The ingredient statement is pretty friendly as well, Whole Corn, Sunflower Oil, Whole Wheat, Whole Oat Flour, Rice Flour, Sugar, Corn Bran, Salt, Natural Flavor and Corn Maltodextrin.

Yes, they are still fried corn chips, but these aren’t completely evil right?  This could be something OK to eat in moderation?

The baked lays by comparison are 1.5g fat, 2g fiber, 2g protein, 170 mg sodium. And the ingredients are: Dehydrated potatoes, modified food starch, sugar, corn oil, salt, soy lecithin, leavening (monocalcium phosphate and sodium bicarbonate), and dextrose.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers