Couch to 5K Step 2!

Last week was pretty frustrating.  I didn’t lose any weight, felt like I wasn’t eating well, and felt like I was struggling with my running.  Then this week started off gloomy with 3 days of rain and no running.  The only bright spot was my wife coming home after 3 weeks traveling on business.

I finally got nice weather to run today, and deciding that I wasn’t going to make any progress if I didn’t push myself, I decided to try the week two intervals from Couch-to-5K.  I had to do 2 weeks of “Week One” so I wasn’t sure how I was going to do in my week 3.

After 60 seconds of the first jogging interval, my legs started burning bad expecting to stop, but I pushed on to the 90 second mark.  With the longer “cool down” walk of 2 minutes, I felt ready to go 90 seconds again when the next interval came up and the second time it was much easier.

I walked/jogged 1.54 miles in 22:37 for a 14:41 pace.  This is my second fastest pace.  My fastest was actually last Saturday when I did 1.1 miles in 16:39 for a 14:31 pace, but I quit that run since it was kicking my butt.  Trying too hard?

The rain means a condensed week, so my day 2 and 3 will probably be friday and saturday.  I hope I can keep up the step 2.  A little over 2 weeks till my next race on May 15th.

1 Comment

  1. Awesome progress! I did the Couch to 5k last fall, beginning in September. I downloaded the couch to 5k podcasts from Robert Ullrey’s website based on a recommendation, and I’m so glad I did! I never had to check my watch for the intervals, since it was all built into the podcast. It was like having my own running coach with me at every step! So if you have not already tried the podcasts, I recommend it!

    I’ve jogged in two official 5k races and have kind of slacked off since then. I’d love to get back to running 3x per week!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About Me

    I am a recent graduate in Food Science (NC State, 2009) and I work for a major food manufacturing company. I love food, but I can no longer eat anything that crosses my path. About 24 months ago I begin a serious struggle to get my obesity under control and reduce my chances of developing Type II diabetes. Since September of '09 I have lost 50 pounds and I still have a long ways to go. I've started eating better and exercising more, including taking up running.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers